Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Maybe purchasing a 993--advice needed (long)

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2001, 01:09 AM
JonSeigel
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Post Maybe purchasing a 993--advice needed (long)

There's a '95 coupe for sale with (get this) 194,000 miles. I can purchase it for $27-28k. I saw and drove the car, and from what I can tell (I'm not a mechanic, but I'm not naive enough to look at the cosmetic side only--engine purred like a kitten) if someone told me it had only 100,000 miles, I'd believe him. The owner drives about 120 miles (almost all highway) round trip for work. He's got all of his records and he appears to take good care of it. Car is on its original clutch (due to so many highway miles? How long can a clutch last? It felt really good and was engaging near the floor).
The one issue (besides the mileage)is that in 1996 he was in an accident (hit on the left tire, needed new axle, etc. to the tune of $15k, about 50/50 parts vs. labor). Kelly blue book is $25,000 trade in, $38,000 retail, without depreciation for accident.

Of course, I'd get a PPI before purchasing. Assuming it's ok, what do you think? My concern is that if I try to sell it in five years, I'll have a 230,000 mile ten year old car with an accident, and will get something like $17k for it. Am I off base? What do ya all think? A quick reply would be *greatly appreciated.* Thanks in advance.

Jon

[ 12-06-2001: Message edited by: JonSeigel ]
Old 06-12-2001, 02:10 AM
Ray Calvo
Passed On
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Thumbs down

Lot depends on PPI and how much of a gambler are you. If it comes out clean, maybe is OK. Then again, with that mileage, ANYTHING could go without warning. You say you're not a mechanic - that means that anything that goes wrong, you're paying big bucks to fix. More reason to avoid it. If you were a handyman type, might be more inclined to tell you to buy it.