Sponsored by:

casting some eyeballs on a TT today

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2004, 03:12 PM
ca993twin
Nordschleife Master

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
Question casting some eyeballs on a TT today

I've volunteered to look at a 70K miles 96 993TT for a fellow Rennlister today. I'm far from an expert in this, but would like to help weed out a potentially really crappy car. Here's what I am hoping to accomplish:

1. do a cold start on the car, and check for smoke or unusual rattling. I have a 60K mile car, which does not smoke at all.

2. drive the car to ensure we can get full boost, and to ensure no noise in first gear. Can I detect the first gear noise by just "cruising" (no load) in first gear, or do I need to accelerate/deccelerate in first? Do I need to downshift to first? Is it OK if I double-clutch that downshift which I do by 40-year-old habit?

3. inspect the car for any possible repaired body damage. I'll look for the options sticker on the hood, and pull up the carpet and look for any sign of repair/paint.

4. drive the car to ensure that the transmission shifts smoothly, the brakes are working properly, and to get a sense of the power (again... I have my car for comparo purposes). Check the suspension (although he has Bilsteins on it... should be fine).

5. Check door jams for any overspray and wheels for curb rash. Tires for wear. The car should have the usual paint chips on the leading edges. Windshields tend to have little pits as well, unless recently replaced.

6. check where the car is parked for oil drips. I doubt that I'll be pulling off covers, but I'd like to get an idea about the steering rack leakage. Any ideas?

7. The car has a recent clutch, and mine is original. I'd like to see how the difference feels.