Notices
993 Forum 1995-1998

First Porsche - 993 a good intro?

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2019, 12:34 AM
mattg43
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Porsche - 993 a good intro?

Hello all. This will probably be too long to read, and a bit convoluted. Im Sorry.

I am considering a new car, and something from Porsche is on my mind. I am mid 30s, life long automotive enthusiast, generally good to work on my own vehicles, while also happy to let a dealer with some things (most notably with some recent BMW issues)

I have limited track driving experience, and a Miata to play with there - but considering selling that to get into karting with a few other people. My commute to work is currently about 60 miles each way, but this car would only make that trip maybe once or twice a month.

I live in TX, so there wont be a ton of canyon carving, but I enjoy spirited driving. As you can guess by my Miata ownership, raw power is not a requirement, but fun/driving experience is. Ive had fun on fast bikes, Japanese sports cars, a handful of Bavaria's finest, and a few muscle cars for that torquey fun. Practically speaking, it may see an occasional SCCA track night or time trial, but this wont be a track car, either. Just a driver.

My general philosophy in cars was a "hierarchy", with plans over the years to move into sports cars further up the list, (things like a Clownshoe/E46 M3, C6/C7, Cayman, 911 - and fun projects along the way like a killer Ghia build, a couple of Jeeps, etc), but some things in life, and an encouraging wife, are letting me skip a couple of rungs, making getting into a Porsche a viable next step instead of climbing my ladder. I can afford the car, and general associated maintenance with a sports car - but I also want to be realistic in my expenses. I dont plan or want to plan for $5k a year in maintenance to do 3-5k miles a year, of course.