993 Forum 1995-1998

Just received a ppi report in a 993 - cost of these repairs

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2018, 09:02 PM
Deutsch993
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just received a ppi report in a 993 - cost of these repairs

I’m looking at purchasing a 95 993 and had a PPI done. This is what they found and I wanted to get your advice on the severity and cost to fix this (pro as I am a novice DIY). It has not had its 60K service as well, will some of this be covered or are these repairs extra? I’m all maintaining these classics but I am worried that this may be more work than other 993s.

** Found: Brake fluid <1% moisture, front brakes 8mm, rear brakes 7mm, slight oil seep at intake boots for throttle body, front timing cover leaking on both sides, rear differential seeping at axle, front sway bar end links cracking, rear shocks leaking, hood shocks worn, belts lightly worn, front tires 7mm, rear tires 7mm. all interior appliances working,
Old 11-16-2018, 11:09 PM
Meenrod
Burning Brakes

Received 237 Likes on 149 Posts

I recently did my 60k service and resealed the engine top to bottom and did front and rear brakes. Parts and labor were $5000. For suspension figure probably another $2-$3k to refresh what are now 25 year old parts front and rear.
Old 11-17-2018, 10:29 AM
pp000830
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 1,449 Likes on 1,020 Posts

Found: Brake fluid <1% moisture, front brakes 8mm, rear brakes 7mm, - Not an issue, flush the brake fluid every two or three years and change the brake pads when the friction material is observed to be thinner than the backing plate or the light goes on on the dash - no cost here
slight oil seep at intake boots for throttle body- A small amount of oil is ingested into the intake during normal operation also an oil change overfill will cause excess oil to be ingested that can cause oil to weep from the boot, not a repair, just check the oil level with a hot engine while running.