Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Carrera s wheel weight & not OEM on long-term car

Search this Thread

Old 09-30-2022 | 04:36 PM
Rothen
Intermediate

Default Carrera s wheel weight & not OEM on long-term car

Hi there, I came back to use rennlist after a couple of years! I'm considering the purchase of a 911 4s manual, or, a more budget friendly, 911 4.
I'm new to Canada, and looks like there are biblical times here to get a 911, but still, I can wait for a car like this and it would be hard to find one with the specs I like.
Porsche codes, if you're curious:
4s manual -> http://www.porsche-code.com/PPUZJKR1
4 -> http://www.porsche-code.com/PPXKAAN3

My first question is, anyone knows the weight of the carrera s style 20'/21' wheels?
I had no luck searching on this forum and sending email to parts dealers.
But I had info from wheelenhancement for the carrera classic 20'/21' !!!

992 Carrera Classic
20x8.5" 23 lbs. 13 oz.
21x11.5" 29 lbs. 4 oz.

I like both of them, so even 2 lbs of total unsprung weight could make me decide for one instead of another (oddly the delta between carrera s & classic is 740 CAD on carrera 4 and 1430 CAD on 4s)

Second question, I'd like to consider a lightweight exhaust at some point, but considering my intention would be keeping and taking care of this 992 for +25 years (I support the idea of a 2-cars garage with an dying breed ICE sportcar alongside a spacious, electric, off-road capable, SUV) I'm concerned that an not-OEM lightweight exhaust may be less reliable than an original one from porsche.

Any thoughts, experiences or suggestions on this matter? Thanks guys.
The following users liked this post:
Ull (09-30-2022)
Old 09-30-2022 | 04:44 PM
Rothen
Intermediate

Also, this is what my 11 years old did when I said him to build his favorite 911. I hope he'll change a little bit growing up

http://www.porsche-code.com/PP22WGX1
Old 09-30-2022 | 05:07 PM
zachr
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by Rothen