Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Remote delivery vs dealership pickup

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2020 | 11:05 PM
Brandguy
Advanced

Default Remote delivery vs dealership pickup

Hi everyone -- newbie here: my first post, and hopefully within a couple of weeks, my first Porsche as well (build code PM4S92S2)! While I live in northern NJ, I ended up ordering my car through a dealership in Cinci. The question I have is whether to head to Cinci in person to pick the car up, or to have them ship the car to me. While the thought of a 10 hour road trip with my new "baby" would normally be a no-brainer, the factors I'm weighing include the following:
- to what extent should I expect the "full treatment" in the pandemic era when I pick the car up? Will the dealer spend as much time going over all the details as they normally would?
- do I need to worry about forgoing my own inspection if I take remote delivery (i.e. what if I notice a flaw once I get the car?)?
- knowing I will get the car at least partially PPF'd, is it wise to put 700 miles on the car to get it home before I get that done?

Appreciate any advice or input (and if anyone has a cure for the "TYD tic" that I have developed, I'd love to know that too )
Old 08-25-2020 | 11:12 PM
Cheshi143
Pro

Have the car delivered to you. Do not drive w/out PPF if you are planning on install, as the paint on the 992 is rather soft and you will get at least one rock chip. There are many "unboxing" delivery videos on the web and they all look pretty fun.

You can ask them to do a courtesy delivery at a dealer new you if you want the dealer delivery experience.
Old 08-25-2020 | 11:55 PM
ipse dixit
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Ship it to you.
Old 08-26-2020 | 08:45 AM
nuporsche
Advanced

I drove out 7 hours to pick up mine. The sales rep and the tech guy spent a lot of time with me going over the car and giving me details on how things worked. They set up my phone and personal items in the PCM. I felt it was well worth it.