Typical track wear and tear costs for GT3

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2024, 12:55 AM
Tappet
Rennlist Member

Received 27 Likes on 20 Posts
Default Typical track wear and tear costs for GT3

Hi All,

I'm curious if any of you track aficionados are keeping track of your track day costs on GT3's, mainly interested in the average cost of tire, brake and maintenance per day. I'm a fairly advanced driver.

I've got a couple hundred track days on my Lotus, which amortize out to about $800/day over the years (tires, brakes, engines, transmissions, etc). I almost bought a 600LT today, but balked at the approximate $4k-$5k/day cost if I switch it to iron brakes (more like $8k with CCB's). I've not been considering the GT3 since sellers don't give me the time of day and won't offer a test drive without a purchase commitment (hell, I'm even happy to pay to try one for 10 minutes). So, I was wondering if someone could help me out with a very rough ballpark. While I can find the prices of consumables myself, I don't know how many days can be expected from a set of rotors, pads, or tires. Based on some guesstimates (2 track days per set of pads, 2 sets of pads per rotor, 1 set of tires per 3 HPDE days), I'm ballparking like $2k for those consumables, but I could be way off

Could someone clue me in a bit better?
Old 08-27-2024, 04:47 AM
richardbf
Rennlist Member

Received 285 Likes on 144 Posts

I've mulled it over from time to time. You clearly have an idea of where it all adds up. I'd estimate I'm about 1.5-2k a day but I'm getting abot 4 days on tires, I change oil every 4-5k, and I buy my insurance on an annual policy. If we really want to get down to it I'm towing to he track with my built out van so lodging is covered but I'm nearly 200k into my van and trailer combo so there's that. It's crossed my mind that maybe i should just arrive and drive with various race teams.

I'm quick but no pro. Probably slower than most of the active guys here
Pads maybe 4 or 5 days