Sponsored by:

991.2 S test drive experience from a Noobie

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2016, 11:57 AM
gary.lee
Instructor

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default 991.2 S test drive experience from a Noobie

Hi, I test drove the S model for about 20 minute today (mixture of city traffic and highway). I am totally new to Porsche. Never driven one in my life so I figured my comments might bring some fresh perspective or they may just seem idiotic to long time owners. At least, I hope they are somewhat entertaining.

1. Driving this car does get one's blood up. I am still excited a couple hours after. The car is very punchy and tight. The acceleration is immediate and I don't feel any lag. There is a sense of urgency when I drive this car. I want to hit the gas paddle when I see an open lane. However, I can't imagine driving this car in traffic for prolonged period of time. It's not very comfortable (more below).

2. Leather interior is a must. My test car did not have leather option and the plastic interior felt like any other car on the road. I sat in a boxster with Red leather interior and I didn't want to get out of the car. The difference is night and day. The red interior looks much better in person. It's a subtle red.

3. The standard suspension is already quite firm and the standard exhaust is quite loud, at least for me. If you drive on uneven roads, expect plenty of jolts.

4. I must say I didn't like the GT steering wheel. I was surprised how small it is in person, both in radius and wheel thickness. There is also some strange plastic flexing sound when I push or turn on the steering wheel like it's not well built. Maybe just this car? This is my biggest disappointment with this car. The steering wheel just felt too small and inadequate. The paddle shifters, however, are excellent.

5. The Sports plus seats are not that comfortable. I confess I am overweight but you have to be lean to feel comfortable in this seat. I am 5'10 and 180lb.