Finally took my 2016 GTS to the track - my impression

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2016, 01:52 PM
Wannabeproracer
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Finally took my 2016 GTS to the track - my impression

Hi Everyone,

I finally had time to take my GTS to the track this last Saturday. I went to Chuckwalla and everything was perfect. The weather was around 75 degrees with little to no wind. For those that don't know Chuckwalla or haven't been, it's literally in the middle of the desert (about 1 hour east of Palms Springs in California) and its usually very windy and dusty, nonetheless the weather was perfect.

Here are some details of my car/situation

1. I had completed an oil change at about 1000 miles, I had about 1300 miles at the track.

2. I was using Sport Plus but left the traction control on.

3. I'm an experienced driver and was instructing at this event.

4. I wasn't familiar with running counter clockwise (as this was the format) but after about 6 laps had started to get settled and memorized the course.

5. I'm on stock street tires and had no modifications to the car except for Rennline mesh grills and full front clear bra. (I highly recommend doing both of these upgrades)

6. I'm coming from a 2011 GTS to my 2016 GTS both with manual transmissions.

Okay, so here goes: