Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Ownership from new: What's it worth?

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2015, 11:04 PM
arch7
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Ownership from new: What's it worth?

Hello group!
I have been enjoying my 2014 991 for 2 years now and its lease it ending in a month. This is my first 911, but 3rd Porsche (2 caymans). I am considering purchasing this car at the end of the lease. My dealer will CPO for under $3k. I am also considering giving this one back and looking for another CPO car, but in silver rather than black and with sport chrono and 20" wheels (mine are 19"). My question is what do you think the value either in $$ or peace of mind of owning the car from new? That is one of the biggest factors right now for me to keep this car. I figure I'll have it for another 4-5 years and then get something new, likely a cab. There's a certain romance in owning a car from new, but also knowing its history. I know a CPO car would have most problems covered, at least for the first 6 years. I also plan to have a PPI done by a local guy who knows Porsche's well. There are 2 noises the car makes, that Porsche says are normal, but I know German engineers and I can imagine these are normal. Just want a second opinion. Appreciate your thoughts.
Thanks!
Old 10-20-2015, 11:21 PM
Car25
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post

Without posting any other details about your car one cannot give even a guess.
Start with KBB where you can input options, mileage, color, condition, location, etc and get an estimate there. Other places to look for similar cars might be craigslist, auto trader, cars.com, carfax, or eBay.
Old 10-20-2015, 11:24 PM
cajerseyboy
Banned

Received 180 Likes on 95 Posts

It sounds like you are looking for a silver cab with 20" wheels. I would recommend swapping it out now and enjoying now instead of waiting to swap in 4-6 years. with that said, im a bit biased since i have a silver cab on order.
Old 10-20-2015, 11:49 PM
arch7
Instructor