Notices
991 2012-2019
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C2S 7MT - 1st to 2nd shift near redline - problem?

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2015, 02:27 PM
Hugh Jardon
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C2S 7MT - 1st to 2nd shift near redline - problem?

Hi All,

I have a 2014 C2S 7MT without sport chrono and noticed that under hard acceleration and shifting from 1st to 2nd near redline (say above 7000rpm) I am feeling a binding/slight grinding during the shift. This has happened at least 4 times and at least twice I was bounced out of the gate, like a missed shift. This was not a full "gear grind" where a new driver would grind gears, (Although I've done that once or twice )

I'll be the first to admit that I'm not a pro driver and all of this may be due to my clutch/shift technique. This only happens during 1st to 2nd and under wide open throttle. If I shift at say 6700 rpm I do not have this issue. Also 2nd to 3rd doesn't have the same issue.

My thoughts are I may be hitting fuel cut-off, or I may just need to shift a bit slower to allow the syncromesh to work better. The engine revs so fast from 6000 to 7400 I may just need grab the gear earlier. I've never had this problem in my 2003 M3. That car slows considerably above 7000rpm which allows plenty of time to grab the next gear.

Just wondering if anyone else has noticed this?
Old 03-11-2015, 03:15 PM
Larry Cable
Rennlist Member

Received 3,632 Likes on 2,358 Posts

what sort of mileage on the car, and did this happen while the transmission was cold?
Old 03-11-2015, 03:25 PM
LexVan
Banned

Received 5,413 Likes on 2,516 Posts

I think you need to grab 2nd sooner.

You can wring out the other gears/shifts. 1 to 2 comes up very fast at WOT.

Sent from my iPhone using Rennlist
Old 03-11-2015, 03:27 PM
Larry Cable
Rennlist Member

Received 3,632 Likes on 2,358 Posts

you really have to hope its not the synchros wearing ... you might think about a tranny lube change...
Old 03-11-2015, 03:56 PM
Hugh Jardon