Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Man, I don't know what to do now.

Search this Thread

Old 07-04-2014, 06:54 PM
Maverick1
Burning Brakes

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Man, I don't know what to do now.

I drove my 2005 manual Boxster to test drive a heavily optioned 2012 991 C2S PDK launch car, with multifunction steering wheel, sport chrono, PSE and many more options.
I've been driving a manual for the past 26 years, so driving a PDK was quite a change.
Definitely shifted very quickly, and using the buttons was not that bad at all. Just takes time to become a habit.
I did notice that the drive was obviously not as involving as with a manual transmission, and I don't want to make a decision and end up regretting it.
This is a very tough decision.
The upside to the PDK is driving in traffic, a quicker car, and there are way more used cars to choose from with PDK than manual.
I never realized just how much PDK has taken over in the 911.
I bet in the next few years Porsche will just get rid of the manual altogether.
Sad.
I like that in the 2013+ manual trannys will rev match in sport plus mode, very cool.
Does anyone know if all 2013's have this feature, or was it introduced mid year?
The crazy thing is I've seen used cars same year, with a crazy number of pricy options including PDK, Burmester sell for less than low optioned manual cars, mileage and year been equal.
I guess the moral of this story is, you don't recoup your money when you heavily option a 911 when you sell it, and manual transmission cars may be at a premium, now and even more so in the future.
Decisions, decisions.
Old 07-04-2014, 07:23 PM
LexVan
Banned

Received 5,413 Likes on 2,516 Posts

All 2013s with manual will have rev matching IF Sport Chrono option also selected.
Old 07-04-2014, 07:37 PM
GSIRM3
Drifting

Received 64 Likes on 39 Posts

Originally Posted by LexVan
All 2013s with manual will have rev matching IF Sport Chrono option also selected.