Sponsored by:

991s Detail time....FG400 ??

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2014, 04:48 PM
sillyboy
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 991s Detail time....FG400 ??

Car has minor swirls, no scratches. Plan is Wash/dry clay.....then was thinking of polishing with FG400 on an orange or white pad followed by SF4500 on a black......have some Lusso Oro around for wax vs adams ....

I'm a newbie with the Griots 6". My car is Black and I hear the porsche paint is somewhat soft. I'm wondering if the FG400 is too much cut for my skill, and or my vehicle. I was planning on an orange foam pad, but could go white, or just grab a less coarse polish.

I may just wus out, wash/clay/ hand polish seal/wax and bring it to a pro......though what fun is that......

Thanks for any advice. again, the swirls are minor.....apologies for no pics......
Old 04-11-2014, 04:57 PM
Homeles
Three Wheelin'

Received 132 Likes on 84 Posts

Mine is black also. Use a white pad with Wolfgang Swirl Remover, black with Wolfgang Sealer, finish with Blackfire's Blackice wax applied by hand. Great thing about the black wax is you don't get the white wax residue everywhere.

Did the whole car in 9 hours.
Old 04-11-2014, 07:00 PM
Hammer911
Burning Brakes

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

ok my turn to respond (why should LexVan have all the fun?!)

multitudes of threads on this, many are recent. Products and techniques all covered, repeatedly. Many links to various detailing websites and instructional videos.

Give a man a fish versus Teach a man to fish...
Old 04-11-2014, 07:11 PM
socalsteve
Racer

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by sillyboy
Car has minor swirls, no scratches. Plan is Wash/dry clay.....then was thinking of polishing with FG400 on an orange or white pad followed by SF4500 on a black......have some Lusso Oro around for wax vs adams ....