Sponsored by:

Buying my first Porsche and have some Qs

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2013, 11:49 AM
WhyGeeGee
5th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying my first Porsche and have some Qs

Hi this is my first post here. I'm thinking selling my BMW 640iGC and buying my first Porsche and I have some questions for you guys.

I have been driving BMWs for more than 10 years now and wanted to switch it up a little bit so I'm thinking of buying a Carrera S or 4S to be used as my DD car and to use it on the track every now and then, my questions are:

1- Which one is more fun to drive? will I notice a difference ?

2- How good is it as a DD car?

3-Do you recommend PTV?

I would also wants to add that I have test drove the Cayman S and was very amazed by how fun it was. One thing that I will miss is the attention that my GC with it's Frozen Bronze color gives me.
Old 07-09-2013, 12:13 PM
duxsi
Burning Brakes

Received 180 Likes on 120 Posts

1. "Fun" is a terribly subjective term, so I would recommend driving both cars (and you will notice a difference).
2. As a DD, it is perfectly fine. You can choose suspension options (PASM, PDCC, etc etc) that give you the best of both worlds, and also adjust your tire pressure accordingly.
3. The need for PTV would depend on your driving habits and how you intend to use the car.

What type of roads do you plan to ply?
Old 07-09-2013, 01:36 PM
Drizute
6th Gear

Ill reiterate a post I made a while ago, 6 months later it still applies ....

I personally love the duality of the 991. As an "S" PDK PSE owner I can potter around town, smoothly transition the highways without the need to refill the gas tank (Petrol Tank!) every 100miles. The car is easy to drive, vision is good, which as mentioned before is essential to S Florida (License or commons sense not required!).