Sponsored by:

Viper owner making the switch to 991

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2012, 11:07 AM
SUSportsfan
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Viper owner making the switch to 991

I have been driving a gen 2 1999 Viper for 12 years. It is a beast, a monster that I have tracked several times and I will always love the time we had together. I have always respected and admired Porsche from a far but the 991 has me hooked. I was driving by the local Porshe dealer and an Agate Gray 991 with carrera classic wheels was sitting outside and I fell in love. I went in yesterday struck a deal and now I am nervous. It is an early build (12/11) with only 14 miles on it. The dealer said he has to complete 4 campaigns and that I can probably pick it up next week. The campaigns are:
1. check/rework fuel line
2. check refrigerant intake pipe/replace if necessary
3. rework PDK unit
4. rework body seal

I could really use the help in answering a couple of questions:

1. Are they any early build owners out there that have not had any problems?

2. Are there any of these campaigns that I should be particularly concerned about?

3. As a first time Porsche owner, should I not buy this car because it is an early build?

My expectation as a well respected car manufacturer, is that Porsche will make good on all of these issues and that I will truly love this car. However when you read some of the posts on this forum, my expectations begin to waiver.

Please comment on my first post ever on a forum, thanks.
Old 08-15-2012, 12:42 PM
chance
Rennlist Member

Received 92 Likes on 31 Posts

welcome!

1. no problems (5k)

2. drove 2k before i had any of these 4 recalls done without any issues. (body seal is the only one i have left to do)

3. have bought early build/first gen boxster, cayman, cayenne, 997 and now 991 never had a single issue with any of the cars. I would not hesitate to buy an early build porsche.