Sponsored by:

Short Test Drive

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2012, 04:48 PM
tgcrun
Three Wheelin'

Received 438 Likes on 234 Posts
Default Short Test Drive

Since I don't have a Porsche dealer nearby, I took advantage of a business trip to Philadelphia and stopped by Porsche of Conshohocken for a look and a drive.

First, they had several colors there, but I have to say that the aqua blue car was stunning. Now for some background. I'm 57; our 997.2 C4S is my wife's daily driver and my (our) weekend and trip car; I've owned five 911s, starting with our '87 Targa; I've never driven any of them on a track, but I love spirited, country road driving; I'm far from an expert driver, but I know what I like. That all being said, I'm just going to give you some general impressions from a pretty average car enthusiast, instead of a blow by blow description of the handling vs a 997.

The car looks great, even the back end. I know a lot of owners like the "droopy" look of a Porsche's rear, but I like the more "lifted" look of the new car. A few of the cars had the model deleted in favor of just "911" under the Porsche lettering, and it looks pretty good. I was going to opt for a total model delete, but I might go with the 911 when I order. The open sunroof certainly isn't as sleek as previous cars, but it's not all that bad. The rear spoiler looks very nice when deployed. I liked the 20" wheels, and they didn't make the brakes look small.