Sponsored by:

My Two Cents On The New Steering

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2012, 11:10 PM
Rushman71
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My Two Cents On The New Steering

Just wanted to give my two cents on the new steering coming from someone with a racing background having numerous karting championships including a national championship. I also worked at the Jim Hall Kart Racing School and Skip Barber in my younger years. I have been a HPDE instructor working with numerous smaller clubs and individuals for nearly a decade. So take that for what it's worth.

I am hearing complaints about the new steering not giving all the information the previous generation car's steering had. But the question isn't whether it doesn't have all the feedback. It's whether it's giving you all the information you need. I have spent considerable time in previous gen 911's and I have always felt it was trying too hard to feel like a racecar through the steering wheel.

Racecars don't filter anything, but that also means a lot of unnecessary information gets through and the driver now has to act as a secondary filter deciding what is pertinent and what isn't. From everything I have read, no one is claiming the new 911's steering doesn't give all the necessary information. So while it may not be as lively, it's actually better. I analogize it to someone screaming important information in your ear vs speaking at a normal volume. Sure, the former is more exciting, but it's unnecessary and tiring.

The allure of the 991 for me is that it succeeds as both a touring car and a sportscar and it doesn't compromise on either front. That's almost an impossible proposition from and engineering standpoint with only the Ferrari 458 in the same ballpark, but at 2.5 times the price. I have been in many "sports cars" that beat the hell out of you with no real benefit. That's just ridiculous childishness.