Notices
991 2012-2019
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

For those with PPF on black cars..expectations?

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2020 | 11:23 AM
nicholascanada
Pro

Default For those with PPF on black cars..expectations?

I had my black C4 fully PPF'ed with paint correction done prior. I guess I would say my expectations going in would be that the end product would be amazing...which it is..however, there are many spots on the car where dust has obviously got underneath during installation and are noticeable. If you look closely at those areas (ie less than 3ft away), it appears you need to brush them off, but then of course you realize it is under the PPF.

I must mention I have never done PPF before. I read a few comments, including from some installers, that if from 3 feet and away you do not notice anything such as dust or edge wraps, then that is all one can expect. I also realize working on a black car must be joyous when applying PPF. So I am wondering what are normal expectations in a case like this? For those with black cars and PPF applied, are there any areas where you can see small dust spots underneath the PPF?

Last edited by nicholascanada; 02-06-2020 at 12:40 PM.
Old 02-06-2020 | 11:39 AM
Tempus fugit
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by nicholascanada
I had my black C4 fully PPF'ed. I guess I would say my expectations going in would be that the end product would be amazing...which it is..however, there are many spots on the car where dust has obviously got underneath during installation and are noticeable. If you look closely at those areas (ie less than 3ft away), it appears you need to brush them off, but then of course you realize it is under the PPF.