Sponsored by:

Rear Park Assist

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2019, 11:13 AM
OldNGray
AutoX

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Rear Park Assist

I recently bought a new to me and almost brand new in general 2013 911 CS4. I am completely new to Porsche but have wanted one for a long time. Like I said the car is basically new with less then a 1000 miles on it.
It has many options but one it doesn't have is a back up camera or front and rear park assist. I understand that I can add an after market backup camera but what I was looking to do on leaner budget for this year was just to find a way to turn on the car graphic on the PCM display. It feels like if you get the graphic with the front and rear option it just should be a setting or reconfigure of the PCM to make it show the graphic if you only have the rear assist. I've been lurking around this board for a bit but I haven't seen the question asked. If anyone could point me in the right direction or explain if its possible it would be very helpful.
Thanks.
Old 02-27-2019, 05:58 PM
plenum
Burning Brakes

Received 57 Likes on 36 Posts

If you want the graphics to appear in your PCM when reversing, you must have the Rear PDC or Front/Rear PDC. You can't have the option without the bumper-cover mounted sensors, on top of which you get the PDC option enabled for the car and a rear camera. The cost to add all this is going to be way over what you'd spend on a nicely-integrated rear or even rear and front cameras! But maybe I am misunderstanding your question? Maybe you have front and rear PDC without a rear camera? I didn't know that was possible, but I guess for pre-2015 991s the rear camera wasn't a sure thing....?