Sponsored by: Road Spy

Tracking 991 Turbo S

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2019, 11:41 PM
Hugo Gunnarsen
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Tracking 991 Turbo S

Hi, I'm rather new to tracking my car (1.5 year / 10 track days and counting), but gotten the the point where i'm thinking about making it a bit more track worthy ...

So basically I'm looking for advice / suggestions to people with same / similar car that have experience / know their stuff.

Car : 2014 911 991.1 Turbo S

1) Is it worth getting an ECU tune to bump it up to 630hp range ...
As far as I can tell a lot of the ECU tunes are very minor, as they often report stock mfg. numbers as base vs post ECU tune, so one does not know how much of the gain is from the tune, vs how much was already in the car. I put this first, as I know a lot of you have experience with this, but it's frankly not my #1 'mod' I plan to do (as I also like the reliability of the car, and do drive quite a bit in the wild as well - as in 3,000 week trips).

2) Thinking of putting on Cup 2 / Trofeo R tires on the car.I have gone through 3 set of stock P Zero (N0 and N1), and 2 set of 4S (N0) so far, and I have a set of Cup 2 ready when current set is gonner. However I realize the second I put on Cup2 it will be iffy when it's cold/wet, so I was thinking about getting a second set of rims (either for racing, or for country roads). Which is my best option?
a) Thinking going with the same setup as the GT3RS, 325 R21 and 265 R20
b) Just upping the rubber 2 notches 325 R20 / 265 R20
c) Seeing that lot of people go with 19" instead, 325 R19 / 265 R19
d) Stick with default dimensions.