Sponsored by:

Alternative reality/facts, Porsche style

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2017, 10:30 PM
MaxLTV
Rennlist Member

Received 1,196 Likes on 591 Posts
Default Alternative reality/facts, Porsche style

DISCLAIMER: It's my first time starting a speculation thread, and I'm not on speaking terms with my cleaning lady (after she moved my carefully adjusted speakers), so this is for entertainment purposes only.

The release of the new Panamera Turbo S and the marketing/press narrative associated with it is opening up a very interesting direction for Porsche.

For those not in the loop - the new Panamera Turbo S is a 680HP hybrid. It's also not a terrible value - if you add all the options it includes as standard, it's something like $10K on top of Turbo for extra 130HP and better fuel economy. It's very likely that relative margin on this car is lower than on a well-optioned regular Turbo.

So it's strategic role is not exactly a money maker. It has a very different reason to exist. It's Step 1 in "training" Porsche buyers to accept a hybrid at a top performance option (918 seems more of a canary rather than the first step in full-on strategy, but what do I know). The press and marketing narrative makes it pretty clear that that's the case, and probably for ALL model lines.

So if we accept it as truth, how will the 911 line progress?

Could it be that we will see the following in the next gen:
3.8 Turbo (S) -> 3.0 Hybrid (can also take care of AWD this way)
4.0 GT3 (RS) -> 3.8 Turbo (RWD, no hybrid)?
Old 02-25-2017, 01:39 AM
fxz
Race Car

Location: The way to hell is paved by good intentions “Wenn ich Purist höre...entsichere ich meinen Browning” "Myths are fuel for marketing (and nowadays for flippers too,,,)" time to time is not sufficient to be a saint, you must be also an Hero
Received 436 Likes on 262 Posts

Panamera Turbo S hybrid package its 226kg for 130HP
Old 02-25-2017, 02:40 AM
MaxLTV
Rennlist Member

Received 1,196 Likes on 591 Posts