Sponsored by:

Porsche Allocation process....

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2015, 08:34 AM
shapiroeric
Race Car

Received 546 Likes on 277 Posts
Default Porsche Allocation process....

So I tried to make this as brief as possible and get all my thoughts in.....bear with me....

So I'm new to Porsche (2015 GT3 is my first P-car) and just wondering how the process works.....do these "lists" and deposits really mean anything at all?...is it all just smoke and mirrors?....The reason I ask relates to my story below....I realize this isn't the norm but the fact it even happened when so many want a car is disappointing....

Cliff notes: Gentleman gets slots 2 AND 3 from dealer for a GT4, takes both, sells second car for $60,000 over MSRP plus CA taxes/ fees on Craigslist....

Let me first say I'm all about Capitalism and a free market....I guess my problem is the dealer, for whatever reason, gave him spots 2 and 3 and he posted an ad on Craigslist to sell the 3rd car for $25,000 over sticker and CA taxes after he takes courtesy delivery at another dealer....after some trolling and lots of emails I secured the spot for $60,000 as he told me there were other bids and I needed to come to the table with more money....The ad has since been removed.....I've attached the emails below for your reading pleasure....I have the name of the gentleman, which I will not disclose, and the name of the originating and courtesy dealers....some may not agree with what I did but I got caught up in the game and decided to see it through the end....