Sponsored by:

nOOb questions...

Search this Thread

Old 02-01-2018, 12:47 AM
rattlsnak
Rennlist Member

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default nOOb questions...

As far as ownership, I am new to GT3s and have a few pre-buy questions. I have had quite a few 911s over the years but finally have the chance ( i. e. - wife's approval! ) to get one of these and I am looking at 2013 - 2015 991.1 models as I do want the PDK. Can you guys point me to a buyers guide for these models? Or tell me what to look for? What are the available options? Issues/problems with these overall, or any specific years? Anything diagnostic wise to look for through a scanner? ( like engine over revs, etc.)

Thanks so much in advance..

Marc
Old 02-01-2018, 01:54 PM
Whoopsy
Rennlist Member

Received 1,274 Likes on 528 Posts

The 991.1 GT3 were only made in 2014 and 2015.

The 2014 cars were suppose to be the one to get with the replacement engines and extended warranty.

But that's a moot point after the action group here got Porsche to extend the engine warranty for all engines.

They are all PDK so one cannot over rev them and like most Porsches they are quite bulletproof.

Your choices are basically down to colour, seats (bucket or sofa), front lift or no lift. All personal choices.

Mileage is a personal taste. Some people prefer low mileage cars, others would want a higher one so they can drive even more without worrying about value. Keep in mind that these are Porsches, they liked to be exercised, a lot, so one that's been sitting around too much may cause trouble later down the road.
Old 02-01-2018, 02:08 PM
zedcat
Rennlist Member

Received 406 Likes on 293 Posts

991.1 GT3 is model year 2014, 2015, 2016. VIN code position 10- E, F or G. I believe the number of G cars is small.
Old 02-02-2018, 07:14 PM
rattlsnak
Rennlist Member

Ok. THanks!
Old 02-03-2018, 02:17 AM
rattlsnak
Rennlist Member