Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rick Betterley's Cayman Track Car Build

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2013, 12:40 PM
RickBetterley
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 37 Likes on 18 Posts
Default Rick Betterley's Cayman Track Car Build

I have started building our new Cayman S track car; for those of you that would like to follow along, the thread is in the racing forum here: https://rennlist.com/forums/racing-a...car-build.html
I am a devoted Porsche DE instructor (250 track days); always in a 911 platform, now moving to the Cayman.
History - bought my first Porsche in 1986 (Guards Red/tan interior cabriolet) and wandered into DE starting in 1995 (I think). Did single day events at New Hampshire for 4 years. Car was pristine, life was good, decided to get a semi-track car.
Bought a real nice 1984 911 (also a 3.2, also red) with better shocks, anti-sway bars, track pads, R-compound tires, and a rollbar. A trailer and tow vehicle. Ran that car for 7 years eventually becoming an instructor. Did 30 track days a year for a few years. On the haul back from a November VIR track event (I live in MA) thought hard about how I was running last in my instructor group and the urge to get more overcame me. Thought about swapping in a 3.6 motor but mechanic said no, car was too nice, don't cut it up.
Good advice; I bought an already built 993 club racer that was perfect; stock motor, shorter gears, full welded cage, and best of all - a club race suspension. Had a blast, car was dead reliable, and beautiful. Cared for to the nth degree. (car is for sale - link in my signature below - and there is a pic attached)
Now, 7 years later, I am moving from the perfect car to what I expect will be another perfect car. Being built by Spencer *** (Speed Sport Tuning in Danbury CT).