Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

PDK in a 2009 Cayman (base)- is this normal?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2021, 10:35 PM
danwink
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default PDK in a 2009 Cayman (base)- is this normal?

Hi all! I’m in the market for an 09+ base cayman. I have primarily been looking for manuals, however my wife would prefer a PDK and I am open to buying the nicest one I can find.

I found a nice higher mileage car today (95k) equipped with PDK and sport chrono. The car was of great interest to me as I have little PDK experience.

I was a bit surprised by the drive. I primarily drove in manual and found the shifts to be relatively leisurely. I did have the car in sport (didn’t try +). Frankly, it shifted more slowly than my Jaguar F-Type with paddles (a traditional ZF 8 speed).

I didn’t spend much time allowing the car to shift itself, it did seem a bit better when left to its own devices.

So- is this a typical experience in an early PDK? I presume that the transmissions may have improved from a software perspective, but again- expected more.

it was not a bad experience, I guess I have just been hearing that PDK’s are gods gift to enthusiasts for a decade and maybe should have tempered expectations.

I had a VW GTI DSG years ago (06 I think) and recall it shifted very quickly.
Old 09-21-2021, 07:29 AM
Kuro Neko
Three Wheelin'

Received 1,596 Likes on 610 Posts

Old 09-21-2021, 08:44 AM
Schwinn
RL Community Team
Rennlist Member

Received 185 Likes on 137 Posts