Notices
987 Forum Discussion about the Cayman/Boxster variants (2004-2012)
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

987.1 S w/183K miles - purchase or not?

Search this Thread

Old 02-29-2020, 11:42 AM
stonekutter
Rennlist Member

Received 145 Likes on 51 Posts
Default 987.1 S w/183K miles - purchase or not?

Hi folks - I'm a first timer to Porsche and this forum. I'm a newbie to this brand and looking for advice from the group to buy my first Cayman with the following requirements:
  1. Budget of ~$15K
  2. Will drive <6K miles per year
  3. Want to try out occasional tracking, thinking 3-4 times per year
I have the following deal available to me currently:
  • 2008 987.1 S with 183K miles on it
  • Single owner
  • Clean CarFax with zero accidents or damage reported
  • Dealer serviced every ~20K miles at a single dealer its entire life
  • 6-sp manual
  • PCM 2.1 with Nav, full leather, Chrono package, Sports package
  • Brown color, clean inside out
  • Carfax and KBB values this at $13K
  • Dealer asking price is $12K
For this car, I will be doing a PPI for this and the dealer has agreed to it. I intend to get the following checked out at PPI - cylinder bore scoring, IMS bearing, rear main oil seal, power steering pump, track rod ends, CV axels, struts, and checking for metal flakes in the oil.

Questions to the group:
  1. Should I even bother or walk away prior to the PPI?
  2. What are additional things to look for during the PPI if I go forward with it?
  3. Finally is this a "good" buy or not? My main worry is getting this car and then then needing a new engine, clutch, etc. and basically having a ghost in a shell for a car
Appreciate the advice and many thanks in advance!

Last edited by stonekutter; 02-29-2020 at 12:48 PM.
Old 02-29-2020, 06:47 PM
RWPinNC
Rennlist Member

Received 109 Likes on 67 Posts