968 Forum 1992-1995

New 968 owner: need advice with this repair list

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2020, 01:50 AM
parkland
AutoX

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default New 968 owner: need advice with this repair list

Hi everyone, I'm new to the 968 and recently acquired a black/tan '96 6-speed coupe with 64k miles. What a joy to drive!

I've put about 300 miles on her in the last week and here is a running list of fun things I've discovered:
  • parasitic battery drain: I was left stranded on day 3 and had to get a jump...what fun. Using a battery charger I would get a full charge overnight, only to see it drain by the end of the day after disconnecting it. I'm taking it to the shop on Tuesday for them to hunt it down, but...
    • in looking through the old service records they fixed a faulty hood light that was causing a drain some years ago.
    • the hood emblem is always VERY hot to the touch, and given it's proximity to the hood latch and the light, I'm wondering if the light mechanism were faulty again, would this account for the hood emblem being burning hot if it were drawing power?
      • I only noticed this after always disconnecting the charger and closing the hood by pressing on the emblem, that it is WAY hotter then the surrounding metal. At first it didn't register since I am in AZ and its 110 daily right now, but you can only touch it for about 2 seconds before getting very uncomfortable
      • thoughts on this?
  • rattles galore from the air vents above the AC controls...definitely after driving over bumps, but also when at idle. It's very distracting and takes away from the overall driving experience.
    • when I slightly slide up the defrost vent mechanism slightly (enough to feel resistance) it improves, but not all the way
    • anyone deal with this? is this just the price of admission with a 968?
  • sunroof leaks
    • probably very common...drain seems to be working