Notices
964 Turbo Forum 1989-1994

Turbo 3.6 valuation (complicated case...)

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2017, 01:54 PM
NBoost
Pro

Received 32 Likes on 24 Posts
Default Turbo 3.6 valuation (complicated case...)

XXXXX

Last edited by NBoost; 05-12-2017 at 04:18 PM.
Old 05-08-2017, 04:53 PM
Frank 993 C4S
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 808 Likes on 494 Posts

I'm really sorry to hear. Cobalt is probable best in terms of being in tune with the narrow market for these cars. Suggest you send him a PM.

With respect to an opening price, you can always lower it if you don't get any bites.
Old 05-08-2017, 05:10 PM
Metal Guru
Rennlist Member

Received 429 Likes on 309 Posts

I'm wondering if it's possible to write down a loss on a car if it's not a capital gain or loss. If you sell a car for a profit, my understanding of tax code is that it's counted as income, not a capital gain (but I'm an engineer, not a CPA).

I personally do't understand the paint/re-paint thing. I'm not into "patina" or "road-worn" stuff so I'd gladly buy a car with a quality re-paint (which I did) over the sketchy water-based metallic paint coming out of the factory in that time period. I understand that you paid a premium for what you thought was a car that was in original condition. I don't blame you for being upset.

Anyway, back to your original question.

From the discussions here by those who make it a hobby to follow the market, I'd say you are in for a bit of a rough ride. The market has cooled off somewhat.

In your favor is the low mileage. The re-paint thing will make the premium buyers unhappy.

My un-scientific guess is your car tops out at $200k.

It's a nice car. I'd be inclined to keep it but I realize these are emotional things.
Old 05-08-2017, 05:23 PM
NBoost
Pro

XXXXXX

Last edited by NBoost; 05-12-2017 at 04:18 PM.
Old 05-08-2017, 11:02 PM
C2 Turbo
Rennlist Member

Received 241 Likes on 172 Posts