964 Turbo Forum 1989-1994

My new 3.6 Turbo upgrade / engine mod path

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2007, 01:46 AM
sl951
Pro

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default My new 3.6 Turbo upgrade / engine mod path

So I'm new to the 965 3.6 Turbo cars.. but after researching this board, I think I'm settling in on the following upgrades... let me know your thoughts or pitfalls to avoid. Also what should I expect in terms of power or street drivability.

The goal is keep within the 'spirit' of this rare car and not necessarily go for horsepower glory.

So here's my list...

- Aluminum Blow off valve (anodized black)
- TiaL waste gate with 0.8 bar spring
- Electronic Boost controller (HKS EVC 4) .. I just happen to have one.
- B&B headers/exhaust..came with car.
- Drill holes on the bottom of the airbox
- K27 7200 turbo (not sure about keeping) would like ball bearing
- CIS Fuel head mod? - do I need this?
- 964 NA Cams - should I stay with stock or is this worth it?

Planning to run the car on CA gas. 91 octane @ 0.8 bar. With the flexibility to run 100 octane @ 1.0 bar.

Thanks
Old 05-29-2007, 04:47 AM
Megatron-UK
Burning Brakes

Received 47 Likes on 35 Posts

I wouldn't bother with the drilled airbox thing - waste of time. Just stick a new filter element in there (K&N do one for the standard airbox).

Rest sounds good. Any idea what sort of power/torque that's going to be?
Old 05-29-2007, 06:49 AM
Frank 993 C4S
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 803 Likes on 492 Posts

My only input is to drive the car before you do all of these mods and then focus on what you are trying to achieve. You seem to be primarily focused on power output. You might want to think about suspension as well if you plan to track the car.
Old 05-29-2007, 02:33 PM
sl951
Pro

Thanks for the inputs.

I have no plans to track this car. The plan is for a good street / slightly more powerful Sunday driver...for those planned Porsche fun drives.

As for suspension...