Clunking on rear wheel?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2013, 06:36 AM
kosh
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clunking on rear wheel?

I've a 1990 C4 964 UK model.
The problem ive started to encounter is a couple of minutes as I drive off a cluncking noise appears from the drivers side rear wheel. the noise is in sequence with its rotation and is there whether the engine is on or off. It's more prominent when rolling and disappears over 40mph. occasionally it disappears for a few seconds and then returns. If i slow the car right down to almost stand still it becomes more like a metal wire twanging sound.

Ive got the wheel off but cant see anything wrong, Theres no play in the bearings and there dosent seem to be any in the Axel either (although I think if it was either of these two problems it would getter louder the quicker I went not quieter).

Thing to note is the handbrake dosent seem that effective.

I'm a novice so any ideas on what I should do next or should I go to a garage?
Thanks.
Old 05-10-2013, 08:06 AM
Rocket Rob
IHI KING!
Rennlist Member

Received 221 Likes on 175 Posts

I would pull off the brake disk and inspect the parking brake shoes and mechanism.
Old 05-10-2013, 08:25 AM
alexjc4
Three Wheelin'

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by Rocket Rob
I would pull off the brake disk and inspect the parking brake shoes and mechanism.
+1 parking brake is a good bet, worth getting sorted as if the shoes collapse completely they can jam in the disc and lock the wheel up.

If you are a novice mechanic, this maybe one to leave to a garage. It's a fairly quick and simple job but if you mess up it will be a pain for you - albeit a useful learning experience that all us DIY mechanics have been through at some point
Old 05-10-2013, 08:41 AM
kosh
Advanced

ive got the disc off, all looks well in the hub.
The handbrake lever is operating the shoes - but im not sure what the 'normal' operation would be.

Here's the pics - is everything ok?