Sponsored by:

overfilled...check engine

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2008, 04:16 PM
CrazyCabbie
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default overfilled...check engine

Now I've done it. Overfilled the tank on my 91C2 cab and got the smoke and check engine light. I realized my mistakes but I have the check engine light. I read some other posts about idle speed valve. How do I clean this? or does it right itself. Also, I do not have the Hammer so I cannot check the light. What would cause the light to go on and will the light go off automatically? I am new to 964 but I had the 79 targa SC and not familiar with the bells and whistles. Thanks for any help given!!!
Old 01-29-2008, 04:46 PM
pat056
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Overfilled the gas tank? Oil tank? If it's the oil tank, just take take some of the oil out of the tank. Pull the tank's drain plug until you think enough oil's come out (use measuring device to determine) and put plug back in. I've done it several times. It's a little messy buy hey, so are oil changes. Then take the negative cable off the battery for 20 seconds and reset CEL. See what happens. I've overfilled my oil tank several times and no CEL.
Old 01-29-2008, 05:04 PM
newsboy
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts

here is how you clean the valve
http://www.p-car.com/diy/isv/
Old 01-29-2008, 06:13 PM
CrazyCabbie
Intermediate

Just did an oil change (cause I needed it) and refilled per specs. I did remove the neg cable for a few minutes while I read the DIY ISV cleaning. I reattached the neg cable and tried to start. It started for a second or two and stopped. that happened twice. The third time, the check engine light tripped on and it started and stayed running, I suppose in some kind or default mode. It does still fog the garage out. I will clean the ISV and hope that is what all of this is all about. I must have really chugged some oil in all the wrong parts!!!
Old 01-29-2008, 06:18 PM
TR6
Drifting