Sponsored by:

Lowering Springs first time DIY

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2006, 11:49 PM
GG Allin
Rennlist Member

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Lowering Springs first time DIY

Can anyone direct me to a detailed DIY on shock and strut work. My issue is I can't figure out how to get the top of the strut apart. The 22mm nut at the top won't come loose. I've never done this kind of work before. I like to learn about these things though and time is on my side. The car isn't moving untill at least April. Am I in over my head. Pics show how far I've gotten. I did search the archives and can't find a do it yourself on these. Maybe someone can post a link to one. Thanks.
Old 01-26-2006, 11:57 PM
GG Allin
Rennlist Member

Just found one. Disregard or feel free to chime in. Now all I need is a piece of leather.

http://www.porsche964.co.uk/technical/jclowering.htm
Old 01-27-2006, 01:05 AM
kgorman
Drifting

Received 41 Likes on 22 Posts

If you use a impact wrench (air powered drill like thingi), then it's really easy. The impact wrench moves really fast and just 'snaps' it off. Your local garage may have one, or can just do it for you.

Hope this helps.
Old 01-27-2006, 07:59 AM
hawk911
Race Car

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The impact wrench is the key, or a big breaker bar before you take the assembly out of the car. I'd watch that option though, as you could scratch the car by a wayward bar coming loose.
Old 01-27-2006, 08:03 AM
jimq
Burgled
Rennlist Member

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

We used a impact wrench and just kept hammering on it till they came lose. On one we had to clamp the top hat and spring together with vise grips and used a hammer on a 1/2" drive socket handle. A few sharp blows broke it lose. Dont know why clamping the hat and spring worked but it did.

Last edited by jimq; 01-27-2006 at 10:24 AM.
Old 01-27-2006, 09:17 AM
MARC A. 964 C4