Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

squealing radio, whats the noise?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2005, 01:00 AM
Dunasso
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default squealing radio, whats the noise?

Over the past few weeks, I've noticed a constant whistling noise when I turn on the radio. It only does it when the engine is running and the pitch gets higher the faster I go. Does anyone know what causes this?

Duncan
Old 04-26-2005, 01:53 AM
RSAErick
Burning Brakes

Received 42 Likes on 1 Post

I've heard that this symptom is often due to a poor ground.... but I have no electrical background, so take it with a grain of salt. Good luck though.
Old 04-26-2005, 02:09 AM
Bill Wagner
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

RSAErick is right....noise from the electronic control circuitry and/or the ignition system is getting into the supply leads of the radio and coupling right into the receiver circuitry. This is usually caused by bad grounds or bad shielding. If checking/tightening all the grounds throughout the car doesn't get rid of it, most auto part stores sell a big capacitor that you can put between the hot and return supply leads of the radio to filter out the noise.

I'd go with tightening and cleaning up the ground leads first, though.

Hope this helps,

Old 04-26-2005, 10:41 AM
Moonraker
Intermediate

I had exactly the same noise when the power lead to the antenna amplifier came adrift. It is a single wire coming down the outside of the antenna co-ax.
Old 04-26-2005, 07:25 PM
Dunasso
Burning Brakes

I've tried to clean and resecure the grounding wire and also the power lead but the noise still pursists. However, the antenna could be and issue as I had the windscreen replaced about 2-3 months ago. I'll pop out the glovebox after dinner and check the connection there.

Thanks Bob, Bill, and Eric,
Duncan
Old 04-27-2005, 03:04 AM
Bill Wagner
Addict
Rennlist Member

Dunasso: