Sponsored by:

964 Targa questions from a newbie

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2004, 06:23 PM
Tay
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 964 Targa questions from a newbie

I'm a newbie to the forum, and I've been researching 964's with the idea of buying a Targa C2 to replace my '87 BMW 325is and a '74 Alfa Spider that has broken my heart (as well as my bank account). I'm kind of looking for a cross between the two.. but turned up a notch.

I have two questions -

First - what are the characteristics of the targa - does it still feel like a top down car, and does it buffet you at highway speeds like a top down car? How loud is it to drive?

Second - I've seen before with Boston Whalers that finding a good one always takes time, and they tend to get away before you get there, and they always sound better on the phone than in real life. Is the same true here? Do you ever find a good one right out of the gate?

I'm looking at what may be a one owner, dealer maintained 1990 C2 Targa with 85K miles. Body excellent, interior good but somewhat 'faded'. Does that sound like a keeper at $22K?

Thanks,

-Taylor
Old 08-13-2004, 07:30 PM
Lon
Instructor

I own a 91 Targa. I always wanted a Targa when I was young and now I have the pleasure of owning one. I leave my top off 90% of the time. It defintley feels like a convertiable, but with the benefit of having a real glass window that doesnt fade crack or scratch. It has the Targa bar which provides a degree of saftey. Where it gives up some is in the track handling. It isnt as stiff as a coupe and therefor not a favorite of people who track their cars.