Sponsored by:

Taillight question

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2022, 12:17 PM
playswithcars
Rennlist Member

Received 153 Likes on 65 Posts
Default Taillight question

Hi, I'm a 996 owner myself but I've been asked to modify a set of taillight by a 964 owner. Since the 964 taillights are relatively small compared to the 996/7, there is no room for LED drivers in or on the housing.
Does anyone have a picture of what the taillight cavity looks like with the light removed? I'm wondering if I the LED drivers could be placed in that cavity or perhaps inside the engine compartment if there is a conduit.
Thanks in advance!
Old 01-23-2022, 12:27 PM
sooner964
Instructor

Received 45 Likes on 19 Posts

Not sure if the goal is to make something entirely new, but I’ve been using Bergvill F/x’s LED light kit on my car for several years and it’s been great. The LED bulbs are direct replacements for the stock bulbs. The only additional modification needed is wiring in their smart ballast for the brake lights.

https://www.bergvillfx.com/products/...led-kit-us-red

I’ll have to look to see if I have a picture with the center reflector removed, but here’s the two corner lamps removed:

Left rear corner

Right rear corner

Last edited by sooner964; 01-23-2022 at 12:28 PM.
Old 01-23-2022, 02:48 PM
playswithcars
Rennlist Member

Originally Posted by sooner964
Not sure if the goal is to make something entirely new, but I’ve been using Bergvill F/x’s LED light kit on my car for several years and it’s been great. The LED bulbs are direct replacements for the stock bulbs. The only additional modification needed is wiring in their smart ballast for the brake lights.

https://www.bergvillfx.com/products/...led-kit-us-red

I’ll have to look to see if I have a picture with the center reflector removed, but here’s the two corner lamps removed:

Left rear corner

Right rear corner
Awesome, thank you so much!