Japan import

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2020, 04:00 PM
gccch
Racer

Received 89 Likes on 57 Posts
Default Japan import

Hey all,

I'm new to the 964 and new to 911 but have owned a couple of late model Porsche. So beginning to look around for a nice driver car and have come up with a couple questions:

1) broken head studs. If found in PPI, would you run away or renegotiate and have it repaired? Otherwise everything is super nice... Would it scare off most buyers? Should it?

2) Tiptronic transmission. Really would not be looking for one, but the world is changing. I know it is not a PDK, but you can no longer buy a true manual n ew 911. So maybe years down the road it doesn't kill value so much? Is it a value killer? Could still be a fun car. Right? I'm a value conscious buyer... yeah I prefer a manual but if I can get into a better generation car rather than go older or even to the ugly 2000s I may consider it.

Thanks,
Greg
Old 06-05-2020, 06:57 PM
RicardoD
Rennlist Member

Received 212 Likes on 118 Posts

1)broken head stud: This is a serious issue, requires engine removal to repair. That is a BIG job. Essentially the "while you are in there" ethos means you have to rebuild your motor.

2)Tiptronics do NOT have a lot of market demand and the prices are lower because of it. The Tip itself is a robust system but it is dated for its time. I own a 964 manual and a tip. And when I drove the tip daily in zombie commuter mode I appreciated it. On spirited drives you have to take manual control as the tip in general keeps the RPMs low unless you mash the throttle all the time.

The 964 is no longer for the value conscious buyer. Those days are over. And you should never buy a 964 with broken head studs unless you can do the engine work yourself or get a massive discount on the sale of the car. Ask the shop that did the PPI their cost to repair the broken head studs. I am sure that is not the only issue with the motor.

Ricardo

Old 06-05-2020, 10:07 PM
Frank 993 C4S