Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

UHAUL Auto Transport Porsche 951 Help!

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2012, 12:28 PM
Snugglepush
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UHAUL Auto Transport Porsche 951 Help!

Hey Guys,

So I finally decided to pick up that 1986 Porsche 944 about 430KMs from where I live. I rented a UHAUL Auto Tranport and a UHAUL Pick up Truck (F-150).

This wil be my first time towing so I am a newbie at this. I believe the F-150 should have no problems with the Auto-Transport Weight + the Porsche 951 Weight since UHAUL permitted the reservation. (Can anyone confirm this pls :P)

In addition, I've ready through different threads that some people back up the 951 and some drive it forward onto the auto transport. According to UHAUL, I should drive it forward since the engine is in front and it will reduce risk of wipping effects. My concern with this is loading the car onto the trailer and scractching the front bumper. Any suggestions?

Same thing for when I actually harness the car on the trailer with the tire straps. Any chance that the car might collide a little onto the front grill during the trip? I want to avoid all scratches to the car!

All your help is appreciated. Thank you all in advance <3
Old 11-20-2012, 12:33 PM
p5th
Burning Brakes

I used pcs of wood to load mine. Place at beginning of ramp. Drive/pushed/pull it up. Remember after driving a while to retightening wheel straps. Have a safe trip.
Old 11-20-2012, 01:18 PM
jerome951
Drifting

Received 62 Likes on 52 Posts

The 50/50 balance of the 944 means you should be able to load it either way. Pulling onto the trailer is much easier, though.

If you're concerned about scraping the lower bumper, have a spotter watch out while. Parking the truck & trailer on a downhill grade makes loading the car much easier (much easier on the clutch).