Notices

AEM tru boost or MBC?

 
Old 07-05-2012, 02:52 PM
  #1  
moswissa
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default AEM tru boost or MBC?

I'm looking to get a boost gauge and a controller, I was reading about aem's tru boost gauge says that it can indicate boost levels and allow u to adjust boost. So does this mean I won't have to buy a mbc or a boost gauge because aem tru boost contains both?

Also I just want to get a 38mm tial wg and 951 Max chips and run 15psi on my stock k26, will I need to get an a/f gauge for safety?
moswissa is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 03:22 PM
  #2  
Will Feather
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Will Feather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Upton, Massachusetts
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

As far as I know the AEM True Boost does both. It is an electronic boost controller so you can set the boost with it and also display live boost. Personally I would still run a boost guage with it, I feel it would be easier to monitor while driving. It is electronic and is has more capability over a MBC when it comes to holding the boost and being more precise.

After you do chips, tial WG I would also run an A/F gauge to monitor. Sounds like you have mods planned, eventually you will NEED one, may as well do it now.
Will Feather is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 04:19 PM
  #3  
MarkRobinson
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
MarkRobinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

moswissa: yes, it displays both vacuum & boost & controls boost + has a high/low boost function + peak boost recall as well. I've had one for 4 years, like it.
Mark.
MarkRobinson is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 04:55 PM
  #4  
schip43
User
 
schip43's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 1,430
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by moswissa View Post
I'm looking to get a boost gauge and a controller, I was reading about aem's tru boost gauge says that it can indicate boost levels and allow u to adjust boost. So does this mean I won't have to buy a mbc or a boost gauge because aem tru boost contains both?

Also I just want to get a 38mm tial wg and 951 Max chips and run 15psi on my stock k26, will I need to get an a/f gauge for safety?
The AEM is indeed both an Electronic boost controller and a boost gauge so no you won't need a MBC. You would be well advised to add a Wide Band O2 gauge in either case as a Boost Controller does not monitor AF ratios.
I have the MAX chips and it's a good chips but for the same $$ I for would go with the Rouge AFM kit. That's a no Brainer!
schip43 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 04:56 PM
  #5  
bw993
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 909
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

+1 AEM Tru-Boost
bw993 is online now  
Old 07-05-2012, 06:53 PM
  #6  
moswissa
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

AEM TRU BOOST IT IS! I found one cheap for $175 free shippin!

Thank you all for answering my question!

I hve to do some research about rogue tuning I don't know too much about it other then you have to convert the DME to a different pin?
moswissa is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 07:18 PM
  #7  
Hacked 987
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Hacked 987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 8,223
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

If you're going brand new... then the Rogue Tuning A-Tune is hands-down the best AFM solution on the market. If you have an '86 with the original 24-pin DME then yes, you will have to update it to a 28-pin socket, which Joshua can do for $50. You could also try doing the conversion yourself (I wouldn't recommend it unless you're sure you know what you're doing) or you could also always find a used 28-pin DME for sale and use that one.

If you're looking for used chips... they're all pretty much the same. Subtle differences but for the most part... meh.
Hacked 987 is offline  
Old 07-05-2012, 09:40 PM
  #8  
moswissa
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Doesn't every chip have to be programmed to fit your car depending on what mods? or can I buy a used chip and custom tune it?

From my understanding the 951 max chips are customized accordingly to your mods so if I buy new mods would I need a new chip?

Thanks in advance. Very helpful to me
moswissa is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 01:41 AM
  #9  
moswissa
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Another question, is it mandatory to get a 3 bar fuel pressure regulator if I'm just gonna run 15psi wg ?? I know it says you do on most chip websites but my Porsche mechanic told me not to get it unless I'm gonna run a bigger turbo or injectors
moswissa is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 09:58 AM
  #10  
MarkRobinson
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
MarkRobinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 2,300
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have one with 5k miles on it if you do (3 bar reg).
MarkRobinson is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 11:13 AM
  #11  
schip43
User
 
schip43's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Carson City NV
Posts: 1,430
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by moswissa View Post
Doesn't every chip have to be programmed to fit your car depending on what mods? or can I buy a used chip and custom tune it?

From my understanding the 951 max chips are customized accordingly to your mods so if I buy new mods would I need a new chip?

Thanks in advance. Very helpful to me
Yes the chips are custom tuned and yes they have been tuned on all stock cars. I have the MAX chip, DP waste gate, Cat back ,55 lb injectors and 3 bar regulator, tuned for 18 pd boost on pump gas.

It's a rocket if you drive it like you stole it! If you drive it like you don't want to go to jail...not so hot. Laggy and slow off boost car is not really interested in speeds below 45 and 5th is usless and 4th barely useable....

From the reports Rouge's kit fixes this.

Really the only reason to not get the Rouge Kit or a Vitess Chip (the only one's I would consider) is if you want to stay under 200 dollars! Other than that I'd go with Rouge kit..

http://www.roguetuning.com/
schip43 is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 03:46 PM
  #12  
Paulyy
Professional Hoon
Rennlist Member
 
Paulyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,090
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

AEM tru boost looks good in a 3 gauge pannel with their wide band and another digital gauge of your choice from AEM.

P.S good thread in my signature. might be worth a read!
Paulyy is offline  
Old 07-06-2012, 06:45 PM
  #13  
teamcrossworks
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
teamcrossworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 754
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just a thought ... Joshua (Rogue Tuning) has indicated he may be coming out with a boost controller.

Let's just say...I, for one, am waiting.
teamcrossworks is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 06:43 PM
  #14  
moswissa
User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

off topic : How do i leave a signature at the end of every post and shows what car i drive?
moswissa is offline  
Old 07-07-2012, 08:57 PM
  #15  
Will Feather
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Will Feather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Upton, Massachusetts
Posts: 1,414
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by moswissa View Post
off topic : How do i leave a signature at the end of every post and shows what car i drive?
Got to be a paying memeber.
Will Feather is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: AEM tru boost or MBC?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: