Notices

Turbo upgrade=more lag?

 
Old 02-25-2012, 09:54 AM
  #31  
Willard Bridgham 3
Addict
Rennlist Member

 
Willard Bridgham 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Parral, Chihuahua, Mejico
Posts: 917
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Educate yourself on turbo a/r ratios. Given no other modifications, this will most affect lag/power.
Willard Bridgham 3 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:06 PM
  #32  
Paulyy
Professional Hoon
Rennlist Member
 
Paulyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,090
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by NZ951 View Post
A lot depends on the exact setup, but I have seen many 2.0 Japanese motors run the GT35 to great effect, to put it into perspective a mates 1.6 is running a GT30 to 533WHP.

If I was to do it again, I would go for a GT50/35 with .84 hotside and run E85 and wind it up!
Isn't rpm the key with the jap motors? those 1.8L hondas rev to 12,000 with gt3582r turbos and put out a f*ck load of power.

What's a GT50/35?
Paulyy is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 02:09 PM
  #33  
NZ951
Super User
 
NZ951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Zealand massive
Posts: 13,772
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Paulyy View Post
Isn't rpm the key with the jap motors? those 1.8L hondas rev to 12,000 with gt3582r turbos and put out a f*ck load of power.

What's a GT50/35?
Well, hondas can get up there, but need a ton of work to get to 12. My race 4AGE just hits 10k at a stretch but stops making power at 9200. I took my 944 to 7,500rpm.

The key for a higher power band is really very open exhaust to make it boost friendly and a cam.

Typo, meant GT30 or GT35. The new X range looks very efficient.
NZ951 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 05:30 PM
  #34  
rlm328
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
rlm328's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,896
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Go to Garret's website and educate yourself. The GT30 is a pretty good fit for our cars. You can play with the various trim and A/R ratios to place the power band where you want it.
rlm328 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 08:41 PM
  #35  
mclarenno9
User
 
mclarenno9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lehigh Valley, PA
Posts: 537
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'm doing a turbo swap and figured I might as well do it right the first time. So here's my choice; GT30R w/ Tial 0.63 SS hotside...
Attached Images    
mclarenno9 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 08:50 PM
  #36  
NZ951
Super User
 
NZ951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Zealand massive
Posts: 13,772
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Nice bro.
NZ951 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 11:16 PM
  #37  
Paulyy
Professional Hoon
Rennlist Member
 
Paulyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,090
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mclarenno9 View Post
I'm doing a turbo swap and figured I might as well do it right the first time. So here's my choice; GT30R w/ Tial 0.63 SS hotside...
damn, i couldn't get the .63 a/r at the time. ahwell the .82 isn't bad at all

Originally Posted by NZ951 View Post
Nice bro.
Nice Bru
Paulyy is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 11:28 PM
  #38  
333pg333
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
333pg333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,491
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yes, but you got the 'GTX' version Paulyy which spools a little later than the non GT version. I think the .63 is better suited to stock 2.5s. Or if you go the GTX series, maybe even the GTX3071? Possibly/probably on a modified car that is going to run extra boost on E85 the GTX is better suited. On the DTM stuff which rev out a lot higher than ours turbo choice is quite different.
333pg333 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 11:54 PM
  #39  
Paulyy
Professional Hoon
Rennlist Member
 
Paulyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,090
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by 333pg333 View Post
Yes, but you got the 'GTX' version Paulyy which spools a little later than the non GT version. I think the .63 is better suited to stock 2.5s. Or if you go the GTX series, maybe even the GTX3071? Possibly/probably on a modified car that is going to run extra boost on E85 the GTX is better suited. On the DTM stuff which rev out a lot higher than ours turbo choice is quite different.
From what i've read it's only upto 200 rpm later.
When i find the time to fit the new fuelpump we'll find out how good the gtx is on out cars.
Paulyy is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 03:16 AM
  #40  
brandon19761
Thread Starter
 
brandon19761's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Posts: 187
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I'd like to try out a gt30 but it's not "bolt-on", SFR makes a crossover and dp to fit but I have no idea how much $ that is
brandon19761 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 04:08 AM
  #41  
Paulyy
Professional Hoon
Rennlist Member
 
Paulyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,090
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by brandon19761 View Post
I'd like to try out a gt30 but it's not "bolt-on", SFR makes a crossover and dp to fit but I have no idea how much $ that is
or if you ever receive the parts
Paulyy is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 04:27 AM
  #42  
brandon19761
Thread Starter
 
brandon19761's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Posts: 187
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Paulyy View Post
or if you ever receive the parts
haha. yeah that's true. I called them to order their oil catch can because it said "in stock" on there website and was told it would be a "few weeks or so" because they are "built to order" - FYI: "in-stock" means: "built to order" nice to know.....
brandon19761 is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 09:02 AM
  #43  
dnovak
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
dnovak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Erie Colorado
Posts: 392
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am going to be making a bunch of these types of X Overs for a modern turbo and I am easy to get a hold of
dnovak is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 09:15 AM
  #44  
Adonay
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Adonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: norway and or sweden
Posts: 813
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by dnovak View Post
I am going to be making a bunch of these types of X Overs for a modern turbo and I am easy to get a hold of
That sounds very nice and all . When do you plan to have something for sale\made ? I am sure there is demand for a small batch.
Adonay is offline  
Old 02-26-2012, 09:33 AM
  #45  
dnovak
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
dnovak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Erie Colorado
Posts: 392
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

starting this week and I do not intend on quitting my day job, just to support my hobbies
dnovak is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Turbo upgrade=more lag?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: