Notices

Turbo upgrade=more lag?

 
Old 02-23-2012, 11:44 PM
  #1  
brandon19761
Thread Starter
 
brandon19761's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Posts: 187
Default Turbo upgrade=more lag?

Hello. Well I'm just getting into the 951's (as far as modding).... I have an '88 TS that I am running a LR Super 53 on. Well I've now picked up an '89 Turbo and cant decide whether it's worth the time and energy to pull the Super 53 "dry" setup from My '88 before I sell it and put it on the '89. The fact is that I'm really displeased with the turbo lag associated with these cars. The super 53 makes loads of top end but unless I shift super fast it falls on its face before taking off again.

So my question is: Are we stuck with major lag with a " bolt-on" upgrade?
I know if you modify/change the crossover pipe and all that and go with a DBB unit the spool is improved, but is that the only way? I'm thinking I'll maybe go with a LR super61 and get DBB, but don't wanna be let down again and I want a bolt on turbo.

Any suggestions?
Thanks.
brandon19761 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 11:47 PM
  #2  
Seattle944
User
 
Seattle944's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Puyallup, Wa
Posts: 218
Default

I'm ordering a super 61 and 3" exhaust from LR tomorrow. I'll let you know in the next couple weeks what really changes. I'm looking to do the upgrades in the next couple weeks. I have the stock 26/6 with only cat back now but spooling around 3500.
Seattle944 is offline  
Old 02-23-2012, 11:53 PM
  #3  
brandon19761
Thread Starter
 
brandon19761's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Idaho Falls, Idaho
Posts: 187
Default

ok, did you order the ball bearing version? I guess I've just never had a turbo car with so much lag... I know it's mostly due to how far the exhaust has to travel to reach the turbo and all. I was just expecting more when I replaced the old k26/8 with the "super 53" being of newer design and all... I have a Forced performance FPgreen73hta on my DSM. Its a pretty good sized turbo and has a billet wheel. Practically no lag and pulls hard all the way!! I'm guessing there's no way around it with 951's without going big $$$ and custom...
brandon19761 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 12:53 AM
  #4  
Kevin88951
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 31
Default

So based on your question there are few items that come to mind.

#1 check you BOV, a bad BOV will cause your turbo to slow between shifts and you will have the feeling like it needs to spool up after every shift.

#2 I recommend you invest in a $100 short shift kit. I have a Schnell kit and it's a huge improvement.
Kevin88951 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 12:57 AM
  #5  
Kevin88951
User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 31
Default

Warren-

What kind of numbers are you seeing on the dyno with your current setup?
Kevin88951 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 01:25 AM
  #6  
lart951

Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

 
lart951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: California
Posts: 14,171
Default

turbo lag? maybe in 1st gear T04e
lart951 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 03:05 AM
  #7  
NZ951
Super User
 
NZ951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New Zealand massive
Posts: 13,772
Default

You shift like a lady...
NZ951 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 03:23 AM
  #8  
onspeed
User
 
onspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 943
Default

Wastegate isn't closing fast enough when you let off the throttle. Or your turbo is broken.
onspeed is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 04:53 AM
  #9  
Paulyy
Professional Hoon
Rennlist Member
 
Paulyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,090
Default

+1 you shift like a girl! LOL
I'm only kidding.

It could be the software you're running with the turbo, Tune related?

I get 15psi at ~3500 rpm ish in 3rd and my turbo isn't what you would call small.
Paulyy is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 06:58 AM
  #10  
333pg333
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
333pg333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Australia
Posts: 18,491
Default

What do you want to use the car for?
333pg333 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 08:49 AM
  #11  
Tedro951
User
 
Tedro951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Indianapolis,IN
Posts: 1,406
Default

Originally Posted by 333pg333 View Post
What do you want to use the car for?
That's the big question. My 26/6 is at 15psi by 3K. When turbo time comes, someone please stop me from ordering something that hits at 4K (or later). I know the 26/6 is out of breath at redline, which I'm fine with. The last thing I need is a device that rewards me for spending more time above 6K.

Just rambling, sorry. I'll go get coffee now.
Tedro951 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 09:02 AM
  #12  
Adonay
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Adonay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: norway and or sweden
Posts: 813
Default

My vitesse stg 3 turbo is at 15psi in 4th at about 3200-3300 rpm everything after that climbs fast .
Adonay is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 10:09 AM
  #13  
reno808
Super User
 
reno808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: In the garage trying to keep boost down
Posts: 8,809
Default

Originally Posted by NZ951 View Post
You shift like a lady...
he is classy
reno808 is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 12:31 PM
  #14  
Paulyy
Professional Hoon
Rennlist Member
 
Paulyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 7,090
Default

my 26/6 hit 15psi in 3rd at 2800 rpm. with a free flowing 2.5" exhaust and an AFMLink piggy back (no airflow meter)

a TO4E 50 trim with a #8 rear housing is hands down the best (Bolt-on) upgrade for our cars with same boost characteristics except it'll keep boosting at redline and make upto 380 rwhp. with the right mods and boost levels.
Paulyy is offline  
Old 02-24-2012, 04:10 PM
  #15  
Motosport
User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 204
Default

Paulyy,

From what I have read about bolt on turbo upgrades for our cars, and with your last statement in mind, it really does seem like a hybrid K26/TO4E turbo is a great and straight forward upgrade. Which one of these two turbo's will provide the best spool up characteristics, power band and reliability.?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/250998749240...ht_1492wt_1189

Or:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/250998751921...ht_1296wt_1189

I'm aware of Barefoot's slightly shady reputation, but as far as I'm aware its mostly related to costumer service, late shipping etc, and not so much his parts or work itself. And I have a friend who's going to Florida next month, who can collect the turbo and bring it back to Europe. So as long as the turbo is good its no problem..

My car is a mostly stock '89 Turbo with A-tune, boost enhancer and shimmed wastegate, and further planned upgrades are M-tune, 3" exhaust, dual port wastegate and turbo.

I don't want to hijack this tread, but I thought this might be of interest to OP..

Alex.
Motosport is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Turbo upgrade=more lag?


Contact Us - About Us - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: