Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Need Help w/strange noise

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2002, 12:12 AM
Knallrot951
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Need Help w/strange noise

I have a whine type of noise comming from the location of the cycling valve area. It is very pronunced when you shutoff the motor. It lasts for about 5-7 seconds.. It is slightly noticeable at startup then seems to go away under normal or hard driving. I have not noticed any loss in power. This just started yesterday. I am going in for a service this week and would really like to have a idea of what might be the problem/remedy... I will start checking all the pressure lines and tighten down the hoses etc. I hope we can shed light on this.
Old 07-31-2002, 10:26 PM
MachSchnell
Pro

I'm still learning my locations...I just noticed a HORRIBLE high pitched whine, seems to be coming from the firewall side of the intake manifold, or nearby...would this be comparable to the CV location you reference in your post? It goes away while driving, but comes back at idle...I know it didn't do this when I first drove the car...my first thought was a bearing whine, but it was non-dependant on rpms...though it does cut out at first throttle even at a standstill...I checked all visible vacuum lines, but it seems like it's coming from below...did you ever have luck solving this problem?

Jason
Old 08-03-2002, 01:17 AM
Knallrot951
Intermediate

Sorry to not get back to you on this, It turns out it is the idle actuator. Little blue thing at firewall area behind the oil cap.

I have another problem which I think is the heater valve, seems to want to stay open and has a low hiss type sound in the cabin, near the passenger footwell. I will post when I get this fix done..
Old 08-03-2002, 01:33 PM
MachSchnell
Pro

No problem...was it something you had to repair (i.e. vacuum line issue etc) or replace completely? If you replaced it, where did you source the replacement parts?