Notices
944 Turbo and Turbo-S Forum 1982-1991
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

off topic, just sharing... changed my radiator.

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2011, 11:32 PM
eric951turbo
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default off topic, just sharing... changed my radiator.

Hey all, I just wanted to share this.
I'm not a mechanic, but I decided to put my fear away (of braking something) and start doing a little a bit of work myself on my car to save some money and yes, the experience.

So I've changed my radiator this weekend.... 6 hour job : )

That haynes manual looks like it explains the how to pretty good... but for a n/a.

The toughest part was to get the old radiator out of there. Lots and lots of hoses in the way, specially that intercooler hose under the car almost touching the radiator, man that thing is in the way

After I finished installing, putting new fluid and bleeding, I went for a solid ride to the store. Everything looked ok, until I parked to go in a store for 25min.
When I stepped out the store and saw my car.... there was a green lake under it

My tank was almost empty, and I did the decision to drive the car back home (10min, drove really slow).

Anyway, I found the problem tonight (I think), 1 or 2 hoses where not tighten enough.

It's funny because I had the car running for at least 1/2 hour before going to the store and nothing was dripping. Could it be that when the engine and cooling fluid is hot that it expends even more the hoses causing this?

Just wanted to share... with a small question

cheers
Old 05-24-2011, 11:42 PM
Mighty Shilling
Wax On, Wax Off
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Basically when the car is at operating temp it pressurizes the cooling system. If something is tight but not quite enough the fluid will push thru until it gets a path. Once its got the path it'll keep going. Also make sure the system is completely bled so there is no air in there. Good luck!
Old 05-24-2011, 11:44 PM