Relocated and new 951 owner

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2001, 09:09 AM
hrk
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Relocated and new 951 owner

Hi rennlisters,

I have just got my -86 951 129 tml and I am new to the Atlanta area.
I have some work on the car which I would presume is pretty important to get over with.
P.O. had the belts retensioned and apparently they had been replaced at 120 tml. However I did not find any records of waterpump service at all. Now I am worried to drive the car without changing waterpump.
Which shops are reputable around Atlanta area? Automobile Atlanta, International Performance, these I have heard of. Has anybody experience which he or she might share with me?
HRK
Old 11-20-2001, 01:46 PM
IanM
Burning Brakes

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm not an expert on this, but I wouldn't replace the water pump until you have to. Unless of course you already had the front end apart for belts or seals, then it might make sense to save on the labour. It was pretty obvious when mine needed replacing - I parked the car one day and discovered a nice green stream meandering from under the car. I'd just keep an eye on the temp gauge, and enjoy the car.
Old 11-20-2001, 02:29 PM
Eric
Addict
Rennlist Member

hrk,

I agree with Ian, unless there are problems with the pump now, run it as-is and combine its replacement with a belt or seal job.
As for shops, I would NOT recommend Automobile Atlanta. There have been MANY negative responses to their work, service and attitude in general. Check the archives(if they weren't wiped out in the crash) or just ask over on the main 924/944 board for opinions on AA.

Eric 86 951-for sale
Old 11-20-2001, 02:48 PM
hrk
Instructor

Thanks for quick response.