Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

LED gauge lighting question

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-2008, 11:39 PM
badass951
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LED gauge lighting question

I have been reading over some previous threads reegarding LED alternatives and DIYs, however I can not seem to find an answer to my question.

I am very new to using LEDs to replace factory bulbs, although a few years ago a friend of mine had an extra LED replacement bulb for an autometer gauge so I replaced the one in my boost gauge with no problems since. I recently noticed it plugs in to the same size socket as the ones in the instrument cluster. I plugged one in real quick and it worked.

http://www.autometer.com/cat_accesso...st.aspx?pid=27

Anyway, I understand than an led will draw a small fraction of the current that a factory cluster bulb will, however why is there a need for a resistor in this case? Just from experience I know that my boost gauge led has had a 12v source with no resistor and no problems over the course of a few years. Also, since the cluster has power going through the dimmer switch it already has a higher resistance than my boost gauge source.

Are your calculations for a resistor based on the amperage that each factory cluster bulb draws? Like I said I don't know much about leds so I am sure I am way off, but I was under the impression you used resistors when a component would draw more current and damage the circuit.

Thanks in advance!
Old 02-11-2008, 12:09 AM
RKD in OKC
Rennlist Member

Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

I thought the resistors used with LED bub replacements were so the LED would see less current so it would dim with the factory dimmer.
Old 02-11-2008, 12:50 AM
badass951
Three Wheelin'

Originally Posted by RKD in OKC
I thought the resistors used with LED bub replacements were so the LED would see less current so it would dim with the factory dimmer.