Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Fuel rail finally off...but I think I'm in trouble

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2007, 12:01 AM
Darwantae951

Received 25 Likes on 21 Posts
Default Fuel rail finally off...but I think I'm in trouble

Hey guys,

Finally got my fuel rail off and heres how it came out. Three of the injectors actually stayed with the manifold and only one came with the rail.

On injector number 4, the injector cap actually broke and I believe some pieces of it fell into the head...I don't know if the valve is closed, but if it was open and the pieces fell into the combustion chamber, will I have to go to extreme measures to get them out? Here is a picture of what came out of the car.

I have four brand new sets of seals for when they go back in, I'm just worried about those little pieces...Any advice is appreciated, thanks!

-Darwin
Old 09-16-2007, 12:02 AM
Rock
Lazer Beam Shooter
Rennlist Member

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

I mean im no expert, but theyre plastic, id say theyd probably blow out the exhaust valve. Id think youre probably ok
Old 09-16-2007, 12:11 AM
SD Porsche Fan
Cast Iron Man
Rennlist Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm assuming you removed the injector clips first. I don't think you have a problem. IIRC one or two of mine stayed in the manifold. Just send them off to Gordon at Witchhunter to get rebuilt and flow tested. $60 or something like that and it includes express return shipping.
Old 09-16-2007, 12:14 AM
Darwantae951

Hmm...good idea about sending them off. My worry about the plastic piece is that will it hurt the turbo at all? I mean if I have to I can pull the spark plug and figure out a way to get them out. Thanks for the input guys!

-Darwin
Old 09-16-2007, 12:28 AM
M Berg
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Try a vacuum cleaner and a small hose.
Old 09-16-2007, 12:50 AM
Darwantae951

Originally Posted by M Berg
Try a vacuum cleaner and a small hose.