Notices
944 Turbo and Turbo-S Forum 1982-1991
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

trade EZ rad plastic fitting removal tip for help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2007, 12:39 PM
oldjammer
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default trade EZ rad plastic fitting removal tip for help!

I removed the threaded plastic fitting from the rad without loosening a clamp or bolt! I'm not a mechanic..just lucky sometimes. I used a flexible shaft driver with a torx #30 bit for removal and a 1/8" standard bit to thread in the replacement(see pic).
Now I have my heater valve out.Can you folks suggest a great replacement heater valve made of metal?? Also, I am missing the vacuum line off of the heater valve(I finally found the fitting at the firewall..mine is just a tube..no rubber housing. Is that normal??) Can someone direct me to specs or supplier for that vacuum line?

1987 951 Alpine white
Attached Images  
Old 07-03-2007, 07:01 PM
eniac
Drifting

Ahh, I just had that same thing happen to me last week. I removed the broken threads in exactly the same manner, with a #30 Torx. I ordered a replacement online from Pelican Parts which showed up at my door 2 days later

As for the heater valve, mine started leaking 4 years ago so I removed it then bypassed it to get me by until I got a new new one. Well 4 years later I still haven't put one back in. I really see no reason to. The car heats up just fine in the chilly mornings and I have nice cold A/C in the afternoons, even with outside temps above 90'. The car already has two thermostats plus a cabin air recycle switch...is a heater valve really necessary?
Old 07-03-2007, 09:44 PM
oldjammer
Instructor

interesting....my A/C hasn't worked in the 5 years I've owned her....the least of my problems. I often referred to this car as my "garage heater". What about the vacuum line??
Old 07-04-2007, 01:44 AM
eniac
Drifting

Originally Posted by oldjammer