Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Intake design

Search this Thread

Old 01-21-2007, 05:37 AM
Porschefile
Three Wheelin'

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Intake design

Well, I've been having some discussions with several Rennlist members lately regarding intake design. I must confess I'm not that technical of an individual, so the mathematics behind everything tend to hurt my brain a bit. I understand more from the point of view of what works and what doesn't. In general, desiging these components isn't really rocket science and understanding the physics behind everything is largely a matter of common sense. In my research I happend to come across a website that is about the best example I can find for a turbocharged motor. Unfortunately this manufacturer is only building this one intake for Honda motors as far as I'm aware. Regardless, the same concepts and physics apply so it is still an excellent example of how to do things right. Here's the link: Advanced Induction Research I highly encourage anyone that is considering an aftermarket or custom intake to check the website out. Check the "Performance Data" section to see some graphs of the changes this intake had. The most impressive thing is that every aspect was only improved. The intake flows more CFM over ALL valve lifts, has more airflow velocity over ALL lifts, the improvements resulted in a significant decrease in airflow temperature and the result was increased horsepower AND torque over the entire rpm range with excellent top-end curves. I'd encourage people not to simply dismiss this example due to the fact that it is a Honda motor, or the fact that the overall torque is relatively low (it's a 1.8l so that's to be expected). The overall power curve is what's impressive. Besides torque at higher rpm equals more horsepower, and after all it's horsepower that moves a car.