Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Help: Loud valve train noise

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2006, 01:49 PM
johntorg
Rennlist Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help: Loud valve train noise

I just started my 951 and am hearing a very load valve train noise, which seems to come from around the no. 1 cylinder. The only thing I did recently was to jack the car up one side at a time to change the front rotors.

After I lowered the car and started it, the noise began. Tha car had been sitting for a day. oil pressure is 5 bar and the oil is full and not contaminated.

I checked the timing belt and its in time.

The knocking goes away when I rev the engine slightly, but comes back even louder when I let off on the throttle, but settles down to the original volume when the engine returns to idle.

I am very new to the 951 and could use some help in diagnosing the problem. If it is a collapsed lifter (cam follower) can I run it a while and see if it pumps back up. The noise is very loud and I'm worried about doing more damage. The head had a recent valve job but I just drove the car 1000 miles with no problem.

Other thoughts are a sticking valve or broken valve springs.
Old 02-22-2006, 02:44 PM
Chris White
Addict
Rennlist Member

Rennlist Small
Business Sponsor

Received 36 Likes on 27 Posts

Dead lifter. You can run it with out damage - just don't get to rev happy!

Chris White
Old 02-22-2006, 03:16 PM
Jeremy Himsel
Addict
Rennlist Member

If I let my car sit for a week or so I have one lifter that bleeds down (# 4 exhaust) and have a hard time pumping it back up while the car is running and cold. I usually pull the DME relay and turn the car over for 20 seconds or so (mainly until I build full oil pressure while cranking). It works every time for my issue so give it a shot.
Old 02-22-2006, 03:48 PM
johntorg
Rennlist Member