Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Solid Lifters For 2.5, 2.8 & 3.0Ls

Old 01-29-2005, 11:13 AM
RolexNJ
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Solid Lifters For 2.5, 2.8 & 3.0Ls

I just did a search on this topic, but didn't really find a lot of information on what I'm looking for. So, I thought I would post this thread. I'm very curious to learn about solid lifters, especially since I have no knowledge on them. I'm hoping to hear the pros, the cons, and what HP gains can be expected from, if any at all. I sense that people who have solid lifters use them in conjunction with a more aggressive cam; which can yield more HP, so I believe.

I welcome comments by all members, however, I would prefer to hear from those who have used hydraulic and made the switch to solid. It would be nice to hear from people who have put them in street car as well as those who use them track cars too. Thanks to everyone in advance.

Old 01-29-2005, 11:48 AM
BoostGuy951
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The problem with this is you wouldn't be able to adjust them. The cam housing is a one piece unit, so you cant really get to them once they are on. It would end up being a huge project and you would need to have a custom cam housing made with a typical valve cover on top of it.
Old 01-29-2005, 12:27 PM
Skunk Workz
Pro

Working on a cam housing having "inspection ports" along the side that will make it so much easier to run solid lifters on any 944/951...as said before,it's almost impossible to adjust them with the stock cam housing...
Old 01-29-2005, 12:33 PM
RolexNJ
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Thanks guys, this is great. But a few things: 1.) How often do they need to be adjusted? I know it depends on the amount/type of driving, but on average? Every 10k, 15K, 20K? 2.) Does anyone sell a custom cam housing too? 3.) So far, I hear nothing but "disadvantages", there has to be some positive aspects to them?

Keep the responses coming, this is really nice.