Sponsored by: Clore Automotive

Should I Port/Polish My 951 Head?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2005, 04:11 PM
zerMATT951
Addict
Lifetime Rennlist

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Should I Port/Polish My 951 Head?

Hi guys,

I've got my head off (why, do you ask? to replace the head gasket, of course!) and I'm thinking about doing a little porting/polishing while I've got it on the bench. I'm not a professional, but I do think I could smooth things out a bit without removing a ton of material. Would it be worth my while to do so? It will probably be more polishing than porting, but I figure it's got to help air flow a little, won't it?

Comments, suggestions?

TIA
Old 01-27-2005, 04:20 PM
Skunk Workz
Pro

If so,just remove any casting ridges and so on,and smooth the transition from the port to the valve seat....nothing more. Polish it is something I would not do for any amount of money...keep a slightly rough surface, no mirror glaze. The last thing you want in that engine is a bigger port...more flow without enlarging anything at all will help a little,but any enlarging will make it worse,especially in the low rpm range.
Old 01-27-2005, 04:34 PM
RogueM3
Pro

Originally Posted by Skunk Workz
If so,just remove any casting ridges and so on,and smooth the transition from the port to the valve seat....nothing more. Polish it is something I would not do for any amount of money...keep a slightly rough surface, no mirror glaze. The last thing you want in that engine is a bigger port...more flow without enlarging anything at all will help a little,but any enlarging will make it worse,especially in the low rpm range.
So you are saying that you wouldnt want to polish..but you would welcome a slightly bigger port?

How well does the Stock 951 head flow...when upgrading is it worthwhile to go with something like Lindsey Stage 2 head?

What kind of gains can one see when porting the head?

-Richard
Old 01-27-2005, 04:58 PM
JPR
Racer